My First Hero WOD!!! “Rankle”

So let me first start out by saying that I showed up for open gym today with no intention of doing anything close to a hero WOD. Lets just say that I was up a little too late and didn’t have enough nearly enough water in my system 🙂

Nonetheless, I showed up and found out that it was my friend Ed’s last day- he’s moving to Indonesia tomorrow – and we were sending him off in true CrossFit fashion: with a hero WOD. So how could I not to do it, right?

Let me introduce you to “Rankel.”

Named after U.S. Marine Corps Sergeant John Rankel, 23, of Speedway, Indiana, assigned to 3rd Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division, 1 Marine Expeditionary Force, based out of Camp Pendleton, California, was killed on June 7, 2010, while supporting combat operations in Helmand Province, Afghanistan. He is survived by mother and stepfather Don and Trisha Stockhoff; father and stepmother, Kevin and Kim Rankel; and brothers Nathan Stockhoff and Tyler Rankel.

“Rankel”
20 min AMRAP
6 deadlifts 225#
7 burpee pullups
10 KB swings 2 pood (I used 1.75 or 64lbs)

My score: 6 rounds + 13

Let me just say that there’s something to just showing up unprepared for a WOD and just going after it. Then there’s the hero aspect. Rankel died defending our country. That’s a sobering reality. That changes it from just another WOD.

Let me set the scene. The bid was quite. Just weights and breaths. First, we’re sending off our friend. Second, we’re trying – feebly – to honor one of our countrymen.

This was something new. I can’t wait until the next one.

20130615-195508.jpg

Categories: Blog, WOD

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Great job! Hero WODs always make me shiver. 1. They are never “easy” 2. I know that no matter how much that WOD sucks I can still go home to my family. God Bless the family of all the Heroes these WODs honor. As for you, heading in unprepared, again, GREAT JOB.

Leave a Reply

