7/27/13 – My Birthday WODs

So it’s my birthday today; I’m 27 years young and in the best shape of my life.

How many of you feel like you’re in the best shape of your lives too? I bet a few of you do!

I started off the day with this 12:00 PM WOD, where I continued to get better and better at butterfly pull ups.

3 Person Teams:

15:00 AMRAP:
3 Power Cleans
6 Box Jumps
9 Push-Ups

5:00 rest, then

15:00 AMRAP:
5 Pull-Ups
10 Burpees

My team got 17 rounds + 16 reps @ 155# cleans, 24″ box for the first round and 19 rounds + 9 on the second.

Great freaking morning #WODs with some good people. Fun way to celebrate turning 27.

A post shared by Justin LoFranco (@jaylowone) on

Here’s me throwing down some butterfly pullups. My hands slipped on the last one.

So after that, I took about 10-15 minutes rest and water and go prepared for a HERO WOD. It’s my friend Mark’s going away, and it’s District Crossfit’s tradition to send our family away with a HERO WOD, so of course I wasn’t going to miss it.

Mark chose the “Lumberjack 20,” ugh…

20 Deadlifts (275lbs)
Run 400m
20 KB swings (2pood)
Run 400m
20 Overhead Squats (115lbs)
Run 400m
20 Burpees
Run 400m
20 Pullups (Chest to Bar)
Run 400m
20 Box jumps (24″)
Run 400m
20 DB Squat Cleans (45lbs each)
Run 400m

So ya, there was going to be some serious scaling here, especially after doing the previous WOD. My overhead squats are a little iffy right now so I substituted 125# front squats (ewwwww).

I finished the whole thing in 24:30!!! A grueling, hard-nosed leg destroying workout and a great way to celebrate my birthday!

Have a great rest of the weekend.

J

Categories: Blog, WOD

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Happy birthday!!!! Those are some serious wods to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

