Crossfit: Reflections on Month One (Guest Post)

A month ago, I walked into a crossfit gym for the first time.

I wasn’t sure I could do it, really. Crossfit. It seemed too cool for me. Crossfit addicts are so excited about crossfit all the time!!! And it was overwhelming.

I also wondered how many women would be there, if I would be the weakest, if I would be the slowest. Insecurity kept me from trying crossfit for a long time.

But I found myself yawning and even sometimes–literally–nodding off during my weight routine at the gym. As I started to build training miles for the marathon I’m running next month, I was spending less and less time with weights, so I knew I needed to shake things up to continue improving my personal fitness.

I went to a local box where I got an hour long personal assessment. The coach made me do all kinds of crazy, bendy things to check my flexibility. And then I did the hardest three and a half minute workout in my life. IN MY LIFE. I thought I might die after. That’s when I knew I was hooked. I signed a membership contract on the spot.

I was nervous for my first workout. But when I arrived, there were a couple of other women waiting for the class to start, too. Everyone introduced themselves and was very friendly.

We warmed up in the Texas heat – 400m run followed by all kinds of stretches and karaokes and other movements that reminded me how uncoordinated I really am. And that my balance needs serious improvement.

Then the coach taught us a skill, the hip clean progression, broken down into so many easy parts that even I could do it.

At the end of the skill session, it started to get tough. Here is the WOD for my very first day of crossfit:

A.
EMOM alternating for 10:00
Even: 1-3 Hip/Hang Clean
Odd: 3-5 Dips

B.
3 Rounds
300m Run
12 Push ups
12 Ring Rows

Two days after, I could hardly move. It was glorious, and I’ve been going back ever since.

Obligatory crossfit photo.

A post shared by Jessica (@jessicanseale) on


After kipping pull-ups, when I really started to feel like part of the crossfit community. I practice pull-ups after every workout now. One day I’ll get ’em.

The first month hasn’t been all peaches and cream. Every time I go, I learn a new skill. Not all of it is easy to pick up, and confusion isn’t my favorite state of mind. But the coaches are always thorough and helpful, and they push me until I get it. And then they make me do it again, over and over (and over …).

Instead of dreading the gym, I look forward to it now. Don’t get me wrong, I still reserve the right to whine about some parts of the workout–sprints, for example. But I’m no longer stuck in a world where I either get bored with the same ol’ same ol’ or overwhelmed by the sheer number of different weight routine possibilities. All I have to do is show up and be willing to put in the effort.

And seeing a box full of friendly faces doesn’t hurt, either.

Categories: Blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

Trackbacks

  1. Marathon » Crossfit: Reflections on Month One
  2. Crossfit: An Exercise I Have Always Wanted to Try | challenge: october 2013
  3. I Want to Hate Crossfit. | Sunglasses Always Fit

Leave a Reply

