60 Minute Row

It was late in the afternoon Sunday evening.  I saw a Facebook comment inviting me to an hour long (60 minute) row the following morning.

I honestly don’t know why I said yes.

I’m sure that a number of you have rowed 1K, 2K or maybe even 5K.  It’s not that fun right?  Most of my friends really don’t enjoy getting on the erg for more than a few minutes let alone an entire hour!

You know how your coach is always telling you not to “blow it out of the water” at the beginning of a rowing WOD?  Well this time you’d better listen otherwise you are smoked, and by smoked, I mean burnt to a crisp.

I kept the pace around 2:40/500m for the first 30 minutes or so, then very very slowly moved it between 2:10-2:30/500m, focusing on long, slow strokes and keeping the breathing consistent.

Getting after it. 60 min row. 12k meters. #crossfit #wod

A post shared by Justin LoFranco (@jaylowone) on

Honestly, it wasn’t as bad as I thought and having 5 other people around me made it much easier.

Workouts like this are great for an active rest day.  You really shouldn’t be huffing and puffing afterwards otherwise you’re racing.

CHALLENGE: Next week, give a 5K or a 10K row a shot.  Aim for 2:30 – 2:50/500m and take it one stroke at a time.

Categories: Blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

