30# PR – 365# Deadlift

I walked into the box tonight feeling weak.  I felt hungry, physically hungry.  I’d remembered it’d been about 5 hours before I last ate and I was doubtful of how I’d perform.

This week is testing week, something we repeat about every three months.  Testing is the best way to gauge your progress especially in lifts.  This is one of the main reasons why coaches emphasize writing down your lifts, reps and times.

We started warming up, doing some low-weight deadlifts and I still felt weak (hungry actually) but I refused to back down, to give  up.

I hit 345# (a 10# PR) and knew I had a little more in me.  I upped it to 365# and nailed it.  It felt good.  It was the first time I started moving some big weight.  Three months later, 30# added to my deadlift.  It’s days like this that make the hard grind worth it.

Have you PRed lately? Comment and share in the comments below!!

Here’s a complete lift of my PR’s. 

Categories: Blog, Personal Records

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Congrats on your PR!!! That’s incredible! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Deadlifts and OH Press Plus Food Log 10-17-13 | The Bigger Ben

Leave a Reply

